World Commission on Forced Displacement

World Commission on Forced Displacement

Commission and Steering Committee Members

Commission Members

  • CHAIRMAN: Heinz Fischer - Former President of Austria
  • Liaquat Ahamed - Financial Writer, Public and Private Sectors Investment Professional
  • Kamal Ahmad - Founder, CEO Asian University for Women, Chittagong, Bangladesh
  • Masood Ahmed - President, Center for Global Development, Former Director of International Monetary Fund (IMF) Middle East and Central Asia Department
  • Vincenzo Amendola - Former Undersecretary of State of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation
  • Kemal Dervis - Senior Fellow and Edward M. Bernstein Fellow, Global Economy and Development, Brookings Institution
  • David Donoghue - Former Permanent Representative of Ireland to the United Nations, Co-Chair, United Nations Summit for Refugees and Migrants 2016
  • Imad Fakhoury - Former Minister of Planning and International Cooperation, Jordan
  • Kristalina Georgieva - CEO, The World Bank
  • Silvia Giorguli - Demographer, President, College of Mexico
  • Rebeca Grynspan - Secretary General of the Ibero American Conference, Former UNDP Regional Director for Latin America and the Caribbean
  • Tarja Halonen - Former President of Finland
  • Per Heggenes - CEO of the IKEA Foundation
  • Noeleen Heyzer - Former Secretary of the UN Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific (ESCAP), Former Under Secretary General of the UN
  • Igor Ivanov - Former Minister of Foreign Affairs of Russia
  • Romina Khurshid Alam - Member of National Assembly of Pakistan
  • Hannelore Kraft - former Minister-President, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
  • Paul Martin - Former Prime Minister of Canada
  • David Miliband - President and CEO, International Rescue Committee (IRC)
  • Amina Mohamed - Cabinet Secretary for Education, formerly Foreign Affairs, of Kenya, Former Chair of the International Organization for Migration
  • Nasser Saidi - Former Lebanese Minister of Economy and Industry and Vice Governor of the Lebanese Central Bank
  • Fareed Zakaria - Journalist, Author, CNN

Steering Committee


  • Karen Abuzayd -  Commissioner on the UN Human Rights Council's Commission of Inquiry on the Syrian Arab Republic, former Special Adviser, UN Summit on Large Movements of Refugees and Migrants and former Commissioner-General for the United Nations Relief and Works Agency for Palestine Refugees in the Near East (UNRWA)                  
  • Nicola Cobbold - Trustee and former CEO of Portland Trust
  • Liz Collett – Founding Director, Migration Policy Institute Europe & Senior Advisor, Transatlantic Council
  • Cathryn Costello – Associate Professor of International Human Rights and Refugee Law, Refugee Studies Center, Oxford Department of International Development
  • Kemal Derviş –  Senior Fellow and Edward M. Bernstein Fellow, Global Economy and Development at The Brookings Institution, former Head of the United Nations Development Programme and Minister of Economic Affairs of Turkey
  • Xavier Devictor – Advisor, Fragility, Conflict & Violence Group, The World Bank
  • David Donoghue - Former Permanent Representative of Ireland to the United Nations
  • Christian Dustmann – Director, Centre for Research and Analysis on Migration (CReAM)
  • Dr. Noha El-Mikawy – Director MENA, Ford Foundation
  • Thomas Gammeltoft-Hansen – Research Director, Raoul Wallenberg Institute of Human Rights and Humanitarian Law, Adjunct Professor of Law, Aarhus University
  • Elizabeth Hagen – Executive Director, The Vienna Institute for Economic Studies
  • Dr. James Kisia - Director, Research Capacity Strengthening, African Population and Health Research Centre
  • Michele Klein-Solomon – Director of the Migration Policy and Research Department at the International Organization for Migration (IOM)
  • Wolfgang Lutz - Founding Director of the Wittgenstein Centre for Demography and Global Human Capital, International Institute for Applied Systems Analysis (IIASA)
  • Ewen Macleod – Head of Policy Development and Evaluation Service, UNHCR
  • Kathleen Newland – Co-Founder, Migration Policy Institute
  • Dilip Ratha – World Bank Chief Economist & Head of KNOMAD project
  • Rubén Rumbaut – Distinguished Professor School of Social Sciences, University of California, Irvine
  • Dr. Abid Suleri - Executive Director, Sustainable Development Policy Institute; Member National Economic Advisory Council
  • Thomas Thomsen – Head of Humanitarian Team, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Denmark
  • Professor John Weeks – Distinguished Professor of Geography Emeritus, Director of the International Population Center and Demographer, San Diego State University
  • Leah Zamore – Senior Policy Analyst, Refugee Policy, Humanitarian Response and Conflict Prevention, Center on International Cooperation, NYU


  • Joel Bell - Chairman, Chumir Foundation
  • Sara Pantuliano - Managing Director, Overseas Development Institute (ODI)
  • Alex Aleinikoff – Director, The Zolberg Institute on Migration & Mobility at The New School; Former United Nations Deputy High Commissioner for Refugees in Geneva
  • Professor Roger Zetter – Professor Emeritus in Refugee Studies and former Director of Refugee Studies Centre, University of Oxford

Related Pages

In 2017
68.5 Million
were forcibly displaced
Source: UNHCR (2017) Global Trends: Forced Displacement in 2017
of those displaced are in the
Developing World
Source: UNHCR (2017) Global Trends: Forced Displacement in 2017
40.0 Million
are Internally Displaced
due to conflict, violence and persecution
Source: UNHCR (2017) Global Trends: Forced Displacement in 2017